occupational hazards


I guess as with any job there are penalties that go along with it and we open ourselves up to all manner of potential hazards and harm. Being of the annoyingly healthy type i never really thought about this, quite happily lifting weights at the gym alongside a pair of overtly masculine body building training partners, and not giving a thought to the physical nature of my life or job. And it is a physical job, i never really thought about how many times in a day i will be moving or supporting a persons full body weight with my own and often i’m thankful for my strapping build, sometimes it really does help not to be frail and delicate. Built like a pit pony i remember being told when younger!! hmmmm didnt they work pit ponys to death and turn them into glue??

So i guess it was with quite some horror as im doing my strong woman impression and hauling the back of a sling holding a very heavy Mrs X into a sitting position, that i find myself swallowing a yelp as some invisible  pain assassin deals a resounding blow across the bottom of my back. Now i have no choice but to remain where i am, i could not in all conscience let go and leave a vulnerable person at risk of harm for as much as i know i am injured i consider myself to be of far lesser importance in comparison to someone elderly and frail. Let us just say my tongue was well and truly bitten but aside from a dull ache i imagined that this had only been a fleeting incident and dismissed it from my mind and carried on. Until 3am that was until some little crimson demon decided to prod pitchforks of pain across my back waking me and forcing me from my bed, a feat in itself since i found myself at an angle worthy of someone far older than i and unable to gain full stance. Okay even i had to see the funny side as between squeaks of pain i decided the best course of action would be to slide down the stairs on my posterior, well it seemed a terribly good idea at the time but became in actuality the longest descent of a staircase ever. And so now, with a pervading odour of ralgex accompanying me everywhere i go i am counting down the hours until work again and since i have today passed more of my time in contemplation of my feet i think perhaps ignoring the painfully obvious aside it will be a most comical and challenging shift and not one i am looking forward to with any easeImage

Leave a Reply

Top Rated

Follow xpanda1969x on WordPress.com

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,278 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 36,955 hits
The KiltLander's Blog

JP's Outlander Recaps and other perspectives from the Dirk Side

JamesRadcliffe.com

James Radcliffe, Musician. Music, Blog, Pictures, Live, News...

Dionne Lister - Author

I love sharing my stories but I wish they wouldn't keep me awake at night

Great Scot!

Cultural Musings of An Outlandish Nature

clotildajamcracker

The wacky stories of a crazy lady.

Professional Moron

Daily Doses of Surreal Humour & Culture

Soul Love 11:11

Love That Transcends All Understanding

InfinitelyRemote Blog

Gateway to BlogDogIt.com

There By Candlelight Press

How many miles to Babylon? Three score and ten. Can I get there by candlelight? Yes, and back again.

Top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

Animals, Gift Ideas, Travel, Books, Recycling Ideas and Many, Many More

PICZLoad pics a la carte

Watchout Loud and Have PICBliss!

Under Construction

Something is coming soon.

Jane Austen's World

This Jane Austen blog brings Jane Austen, her novels, and the Regency Period alive through food, dress, social customs, and other 19th C. historical details related to this topic.

eyE[before]E

in the land of the m[EyE]nd the one E'd man is kEEn

Perking the Pansies

Jack Scott's random ramblings

